IK Logo

Windows8

Computer or software related discussion.

Moderator: {§ÎR}MrBee®

Mon 13 May, 2013 4:11 pm


  • Does UT2004 play on Win8? Does it play well? Any problems?
    User avatar
    Reptyle
    Page
     
    Posts: 94
    Joined: Mon 30 Jan, 2012 10:20 am
    Location: Michigan

Mon 13 May, 2013 8:14 pm


  • Plays great on mine. No problems whatsoever. :)


    Windows 10 Pro, Intel® Core™ i7-6700K 8M Skylake Quad-Core 4.0 GHz 1151 Unlocked, MSI Z170A Gaming M7, MSI GeForce GTX 970 4GB Gaming 4G, 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws V Series DDR4, Creative Labs Sound Blaster Zx soundcard, Logitech® G9x Laser Mouse, 850 EVGA Supernova PSU.
    User avatar
    {ÎK}çyßêrhåwk
    King
     
    Posts: 1597
    Joined: Fri 21 Jul, 2006 11:06 am
    Location: Cincinnati, Ohio USA

Mon 13 May, 2013 11:19 pm

Tue 14 May, 2013 9:16 am

Tue 09 Jul, 2013 1:39 pm


  • On my win7 I3 64 bit machine i can run UT in 32bit. On my new laptop with win8 I7 64 bit, i can only run the 64 bit UT. It runs ok but there are problems. When in the game and I hit the windows key to go to desktop, I will have to reset the resolution of the game back to 1920 x 1080 when I reenter the game. Any ideas? Anybody running 32 bit UT on win8?

    After experimenting with Win8, I have found that if I grab the top bar of the game window and flip it up (as if it were a touch screen) it will go back to full screen.
    Last edited by Reptyle on Sat 27 Jul, 2013 3:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
    User avatar
    Reptyle
    Page
     
    Posts: 94
    Joined: Mon 30 Jan, 2012 10:20 am
    Location: Michigan

Thu 18 Jul, 2013 12:30 pm


  • Are you guys running the 32 bit or 64 bit UT2k4 on Win8?
    User avatar
    Reptyle
    Page
     
    Posts: 94
    Joined: Mon 30 Jan, 2012 10:20 am
    Location: Michigan

Fri 19 Jul, 2013 12:02 pm


  • I'm running Windows 8 64-bit Reptyle


    Windows 10 Pro, Intel® Core™ i7-6700K 8M Skylake Quad-Core 4.0 GHz 1151 Unlocked, MSI Z170A Gaming M7, MSI GeForce GTX 970 4GB Gaming 4G, 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws V Series DDR4, Creative Labs Sound Blaster Zx soundcard, Logitech® G9x Laser Mouse, 850 EVGA Supernova PSU.
    User avatar
    {ÎK}çyßêrhåwk
    King
     
    Posts: 1597
    Joined: Fri 21 Jul, 2006 11:06 am
    Location: Cincinnati, Ohio USA

Sat 20 Jul, 2013 8:28 am


  • Are You going to run the 32 bit or 64 bit UT2k4?
    User avatar
    Reptyle
    Page
     
    Posts: 94
    Joined: Mon 30 Jan, 2012 10:20 am
    Location: Michigan

Sat 20 Jul, 2013 12:43 pm


  • I didn't know there was a 64 bit version, I thought they only made the 32 bit version?
    User avatar
    {ÎK}Queen
    Queen
     
    Posts: 245
    Joined: Sat 28 Jan, 2012 1:58 am
    Location: Canada

Mon 22 Jul, 2013 11:58 am


  • It's a patch called ut2004-win64-3369.


    From UT Zone:
    This is a native, 64-bit version of Unreal Tournament 2004 for Win64
    (or "Windows XP 64-bit Edition", or "Windows for x64", etc).

    To install:
    - Install the retail version of UT2004 on Win64 from the retail disc(s).
    The free demo version will not be sufficient for this. The installer
    on the disc is a 32-bit program, but it will run fine on Win64.
    - Patch the installation to version 3369 (available from
    http://www.unrealtournament.com/). The update program is also 32-bit
    but, again, will run fine on win64.
    - Unpack this .zip file into the directory where you installed the
    game, so that "ut2004-win64.exe" ends up in the game's "System"
    directory, "ut2004-win64Logo.bmp" ends up in "Help", etc...
    - Run the ut2004-win64.exe program from the game's "System" directory.


    Minimum System Specs for 64-Bit Version:
    Supported OS: Windows® XP, Windows® XP Professional x64 Edition
    Processor: AMD Athlon™ 64 processor 2800+ or equivalent
    RAM: 128MB
    Video Card: 64MB DirectX® 9.0 compatible graphics card
    Sound Card: DirectX 9.0 compatible PCI card
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0 included with 64-bit OS
    CD-ROM: 6X DVD or 16X CD-ROM
    Hard Drive Space: 5.6 GB Free (for both retail version & 64-bit version)
    Multiplay: 33.6 Kps modem for LAN/Internet play


    Recommended System Specs for 64-Bit Version:
    Supported OS: Windows® XP, Windows® XP Professional x64 Edition
    Processor: AMD Athlon™ 64 processor 3400+ or equivalent
    RAM: 256MB
    Video Card: 128MB DirectX 9.0 compatible graphics card
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster® Audigy series recommended
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0 included with 64-bit OS
    CD-ROM: 24X DVD or 24X CD-ROM
    Hard Drive Space: 5.6 GB Free (for both retail version & 64-bit version)
    Multiplay: Broadband Internet connection recommended

    * Note: Please see retail box for 32-bit OS system recommendations.


    Other notes:

    The Win64 version includes both a Direct3D9 and OpenGL renderer.
    The Direct3D 8 renderer (the default on win32) is not available, nor
    is the Pixomatic software renderer.

    The 32-bit version is still available on your system, and should not
    be affected by the existance of the 64-bit version. They even use
    seperate .ini files by default.

    ucc-win64.exe is the 64-bit version of the dedicated server.

    There is no support available for the 64-bit version of the game.
    Please do not contact Atari tech support about the Win64 version.

    Enjoy!

    --Epic Games.
    User avatar
    Reptyle
    Page
     
    Posts: 94
    Joined: Mon 30 Jan, 2012 10:20 am
    Location: Michigan

Mon 22 Jul, 2013 1:19 pm


  • lol, Silly Queen :) of course I run that patch :) or it doesn't work well for me :)
    User avatar
    {ÎK}Queen
    Queen
     
    Posts: 245
    Joined: Sat 28 Jan, 2012 1:58 am
    Location: Canada

Tue 23 Jul, 2013 11:15 am


  • The win64 3369 patch or the regular 3369 patch?
    User avatar
    Reptyle
    Page
     
    Posts: 94
    Joined: Mon 30 Jan, 2012 10:20 am
    Location: Michigan

Tue 23 Jul, 2013 5:24 pm


  • Pretty sure it is just the regular, since I didn't know there was a 64 bit one. :)
    User avatar
    {ÎK}Queen
    Queen
     
    Posts: 245
    Joined: Sat 28 Jan, 2012 1:58 am
    Location: Canada

Thu 08 Aug, 2013 11:36 am


  • I did get it to work on 32 bit. However to get full 1920 x 1080 res you have to go to 64 bit. That's where I am now.
    User avatar
    Reptyle
    Page
     
    Posts: 94
    Joined: Mon 30 Jan, 2012 10:20 am
    Location: Michigan

Thu 08 Aug, 2013 12:52 pm


  • Can you post the link for the 64 bit patch please? :)
    User avatar
    {ÎK}Queen
    Queen
     
    Posts: 245
    Joined: Sat 28 Jan, 2012 1:58 am
    Location: Canada

Next


Return to Hardware/Software




Information
  • Who is online
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest
cron